Pregnancy Nostalgia

I have been feeling a little nostalgic lately about my pregnancy. I miss my baby bump and feeling Calli move around in my belly. I catch myself looking at cute pregnant ladies and feeling slightly envious. I find this hilarious because 7 weeks ago I was dying to not be pregnant. I was so uncomfortable and anxious to meet our sweet girl that I would have paid my weight in gold to get her out. I think this nostalgia and slight longing for a sweet bump is likely a combination of the madness of postpartum hormones (they are nuts) and God’s generosity to women. I don’t know that women would want to get pregnant again and go through the process of getting a little person out of their body (either naturally or via c-section) and all the craziness that goes with it without this silly nostalgia. Basically I would do it all again (and probably will in a few years Lord willing) because sheesh, it’s amazing right?!
maternity-9
I thought I would share with you all some of our maternity pictures. We met our photographer through my Mom. It was one of those God things and Brittney is a delight. She made Chad and I feel at ease and took such gorgeous pictures. I wept scrolling through our photos the first time. I feel proud and beautiful looking at my pregnant body and if I am honest, at the time, felt huge and foreign to me. I was filled with insecurity about my body (and still am) as it stretched to accommodate a new person growing. I was nervous about taking pictures but so wanted to document the bump. I was just so afraid that I would look huge. But Brittney was able to capture the beauty of carrying new life and make this girl feel like a model. Glory!
maternity-13
maternity-14
maternity-21
maternity-31
maternity-12
I have to give a shout out to Brittney. If you or a friend is in need of pregnancy photos or newborn photos, she is amazing. Check out her stuff on her website. 🙂 Thanks Brittney for loving on us and helping us capture the miracle of our sweet Calli Elizabeth.
Leave a Reply

