Surprised by Pregnancy

IMG_0412
The day before I peed on a stick wondering if  two lines would show up, I sat in a church pew. I was minding my own business, singing the words to a well known hymn. Pregnancy was not on my radar, nor was it part of my husband and I’s plan. We were in major transition. My husband just graduated from seminary, we had just moved in with my parents and were in full blown job hunt mode.
The sound of hymns stirred within my soul and I heard it. “Erin, don’t freak out. You’re pregnant.” Suddenly the words on the screen faded and I responded to the quiet voice I know well with a “What?” Because He is gracious, he repeated to me “Erin, don’t freak out. You’re pregnant. And it’s a girl. I know you have always thought you’d have boys, but I know the desire of your heart and you want a girl. You are having a girl.”
I thought my heart was going to explode out of my chest. Mostly out of panic. I also had my own moment like Sarah, where I laughed at the Lord. I was convinced that I was delusional. I have misheard Him in the past and I am very guarded with taking things like this seriously until proven otherwise. The cost is too high to mishear Him. I learned that lesson the hard way. Surely the summer heat in the church was getting to me. I couldn’t possibly be pregnant,  but the thought nagged me and I knew in my heart this was one of those times he was speaking to me.
I stored this revelation in my heart with delight but mostly fear. Questions arose in my mind. How would we afford a child? How is this possible? We were so far from being ready to be parents. What about my dream of finishing school and pursuing a career before kids? What about my husbands job search? Shouldn’t we be living on our own? As the questions rolled in, the anxiety heightened. This wasn’t our plan. At least not yet. We had only been married a year. We were planning on waiting at least three to five. I thought through the reality of our current situation. We lived with my parents. We were between school and a job and despite many interviews every door was closed. We were teetering on the brink of serious discouragement over the many no’s we had recently received. We were pretty confused on what path to take and the thought of adding a baby into this made me want to hyperventilate.  I mean, our circumstances were enough to feel like if I got a positive test we were irresponsible. I began thinking about what my husband would think if this was true, and then our parents. Oh and lots of other people.
I shoved the thoughts down and forced myself to focus on the sermon that was beginning. Maybe I was just imagining that I heard God say the word pregnant…
I took the encounter seriously enough to buy a two pack of pregnancy tests that night when I was out running errands. I thought, well at the very least I can confirm or deny it in the morning. I don’t think I slept well that night. Both out of anticipation of hearing the Lord on something so major, but also the real possibility that I was in fact pregnant and what that would mean for our life.
Sure enough, the next morning yielded two pink lines and put me in a state of absolute disbelief. It was a whirlwind, emotional morning for the two of us. I can’t say I tactfully broke the news to my husband. It was far from the romanticized dream in my head of what the moment would be like. Looking back it’s almost comical. But in the moment it felt crisis like.
We reeled for a few weeks privately, not because we didn’t want our child but because we were so utterly caught off guard. Truly we were in a season of stripping. Each plan that my husband and I had made and hung onto was being stripped and laid bare before the feet of Jesus. Jobs, career, education, family planning, time in our marriage just the two of us, traveling and our living situation. Slowly it was as if God was asking us “Do you trust my plan? Do you want me more?” The pain of dying to our own belief that our plans were better than his or more timely than his was excruciating. We both felt crushed under the pain of grief and loss of our own treasured expectations. We prayed together often that we wanted his best. But when his best required we surrender any tiny piece of our conceived plan, it hurt. Truthfully, it still hurts. We both ebb and flow in and out of stages of grief that our plans are not reliable, nor did they come to fruition.
God was so gracious to prepare my heart for the positive test. It was even more remarkable that he let me know the child I was carrying was a girl. Now I am 34 weeks pregnant and know it’s a girl. Another confirmation of that Sunday surprise whisper of the Lord. He knew I needed that comfort for the weeks to come. I remembered him telling me not to freak out. Despite my desire to continually panic, I was able to slowly settle into the idea of becoming a mother.
Honestly, we are still in a lot of transition, but have seen God’s faithfulness in so many ways to make what seemed impossible actually quite doable. Many of the things we hoped for have not come about the traditional way. God’s ways are so different than people’s. But we have seen him to be trustworthy and completely truthful. We have what we need for this season. We also have way more support than I could have dreamt.
We are so excited to meet our little girl. She truly is a gift from God. After all he knows best, and gives us the best.
Leave a Reply

